Skip to main content

Departmental Events

Tele-Events

Please contact us to list your events here.

Colloquium Schedule

UC San Diego’s Sociology Colloquium Speaker Series offers the opportunity to learn about the latest research from leading scholars in sociology and closely related fields. Presentations are followed by Q&A.

Under normal circumstances, colloquia are held Thursday in SSB 101. All events whether In Person or Zoom are scheduled from 12:30pm - 1:50pm. 

 

2021-2022

Tuesday, February 1, 2022

Kelly Nielsen, Ph.D.Senior Researcher, University of California San Diegok1nielsen@ucsd.edu

Laura Hamilton, Ph.D.Professor, University of California Mercedlhamilton2@ucmerced.eduTitle: Administering Austerity in the New University

This Event is Remote Access Only

Join Zoom Meeting  

Phone one-tap:  

US: +16699006833,,92523690670# or +12133388477,,92523690670#  

Meeting URL:  

https://ucsd.zoom.us/j/92523690670?from=addon  

Meeting ID:  

925 2369 0670 

Thursday, February 10, 2022

Johanna Bockman, Ph.D.Associate Professor, George Mason Universityjbockman@gmu.eduTitle: Revisiting the Left-Wing Origins of Neoliberalism

This Event is Remote Access Only

Join Zoom Meeting  

Phone one-tap:  

US: +16692192599,,98284830767# or +16699006833,,98284830767#  

Meeting URL:  

https://ucsd.zoom.us/j/98284830767?from=addon  

Meeting ID:  

982 8483 0767 

Thursday, February 17, 2022

Hajar Yazdiha, Ph.D.Assistant Professor, University of Southern Californiahyazdiha@usc.eduTitle: Don’t Kill the Messenger’: Immigrant Rights Activists, Nativist Countermovements, and the Identity Politics of Cultural Resonance

Location: SSB 101Thursday, February 24, 2022

Whitney Pirtle, Ph.D.Assistant Professor, University of California Mercedwpirtle@ucmerced.eduTitle: Coloured-Blind in the Rainbow Nation: Exploring Racial Formation and Racial Capitalism in Post-Apartheid South Africa

Location: SSB 101

 

Thursday, March 3, 2022 

Galit Ailon, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Bar-Ilan University 

Galit.Ailon@biu.ac.il 

Title: Market culture and intersubjectivity 

This Event is Remote Access Only via Zoom 

 

Thursday, April 7, 2022 

Hannah Wohl, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, University of California Santa Barbara 

hwohl@ucsb.edu 

Title: What is Creativity? How Contemporary Artists Judge Their Work 

Location: SSB 101 

 

Thursday, April 14, 2022 

Malcolm Fairbrother, Ph.D Professor, Umea Uiversity 

malcolm.fairbrother@umu.se 

Title: How Do People Think We Should Save the Earth? Public Attitudes about Climate Policies, and their Foundations 

This Event is Remote Access Only via Zoom 

 

 

Thursday, April 28, 2022 

Lisa Suckert, Ph.D. Senior Researcher, Max Planck Institute 

suckert@mpifg.de 

Title:  Future in Crisis. Understanding the phenomenon of "crises" from a sociology of imagined futures perspective 

This Event is Remote Access Only via Zoom 

 

 

Thursday, May 5, 2022 

Fabien Accominotti, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, University of Wisconsin-Madison 

accominotti@wisc.edu 

Title Meritocracy at Work: How Evaluation Fuels Inequality 

This Event is Remote Access Only via Zoom 

 

 

Thursday, May 12, 2022 

Laura Nelson, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, University of British Columbia 

laura.k.nelson@ubc.ca 

Title:  Cycles of Conflict, a Century of Continuity: Computational Methods and the Longue Durée 

This Event is Remote Access Only via Zoom 

 

Thursday, May 19, 2022 

Jonathan Mijs, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Boston University 

Mijs@bu.edu 

Title: Researching belief formation and belief change through the lens of inequality 

This Event is Remote Access Only via Zoom